What I do

I’m mostly just floating around right now.

I’ve been trying to learn web design, but it’s not going well. I’ve done a single semi-professional web design job, over at http://bnaiisraelnc.org/ , for a synagogue in town. It’s a handwritten theme for WordPress. It wouldn’t have taken me so long, except for the whole breakdown and seeking therapy in the middle. The entire site’s nothing but CSS, HTML, and PHP, aside from the slider and a few sparse bits of image, since I’m utterly inept with graphic design.

There are themes out there like Roots and Coraline that seem to be good basises for a full site, but I have no idea how exactly to use them. I can write from scratch, but I can’t use a baseline.

I’m wondering if it’d be easier to just get a bushel of premium themes and offer them as site baselines for businesses in town. Maybe I shouldn’t be trying to reinvent the wheel when I could soak the cost, offer a better product, and spend a hugely lower amount of time on the site.

The downside of that’s that I’m not very good at customizing other people’s work like that, and couldn’t offer more personalized stuff.

Posted on February 2, 2012, in general. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. No, don’t try to reinvent the wheel. There is money in convenience. Most people who DO know how to create sites just don’t have the time, and let’s be honest, most people don’t know squat about web design (myself included). The important thing is to just keep working. Perfection comes in time, and you have plenty of time. 🙂 Just keep it up and learn as you move along.

Leave a Reply

